PSL Updates

Pakistan Super League T20 Updates
PSL Icon Players

Most Expensive Icon Players of PSL

Icon players are those who don’t have to go through bidding with full advantage to rule the Pakistan Super League. These icon players would get at least 15% more than the next top earner in their franchise. Pakistan Cricket Board has announced total of five Icon players for PSL.

The players in iconic category includes Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik from Pakistan, Kevin Pietersen from England, Chris Gayle from West Indies and Shane Watson from Australia. Each PSL franchise will have to pick only one icon player from the list. Islamabad United gets the favor of picking the first Icon player for their franchise followed by Karachi Kings, Peshawar Zalmi, Quetta Gladiators and in the last Lahore Qalandars. Draft of picking Icon players will take place on 21st and 22nd December.

Though there is no official announcement but Misbah & Younis were both left out for making into Icon Players list of PSL t20. Younis Khan is the only player who led Pakistan team victorious in 2009 Icc World T20 Cup. It is no surprise that Misbah is not included in Icon Players list as he has already being retired from Pakistan National T20 squad. On side note, Watson has also took retirement from Australian T20 team but he has been added. Meanwhile there is not even an official statement has been given in the favor of other players inclusion in Icon Players list of PSL but both have expressed shockingly on the decision of PCB. Misbah and Younis will be demoted in the Platinum players category automatically.

25 players in the Platinum category will be receiving amount of $140,000. The second category is Diamond with an amount of $70,000, third with Gold $50,000, then Silver $25,000 and last but not least Emerging $10,000.

Leave a Reply