PSL Updates

Pakistan Super League T20 Updates

PSL T20 Players Draft

PSL T20 Draft held in Lahore National Academy with the kick off start by Pakistan Cricket Board where the five teams of Pakistan Super League choose their icon player on Monday.

The most interesting picks were from Lahore Qalandars Chris Gayle & Peshawar Zalmi who picked Shahid Afridi for their teams. While Shane Watson Australian All Rounder was selected by Islamabad United. Quetta Gladiators bagged English Hard Hitter Kevin Pietersen while ARY owned franchise Karachi Kings signed the former Pakistani captain Shoaib Malik.

Related: PSL Icon Players Auction

PSL drafts of total 45 players among five franchises, teams had to pick only players from the Platinum, Diamond and Gold categories each, with a minimum of four Pakistan cricketers and maximum of four foreign players.

From platinum category All Rounder Shakib Al Hasan was picked by Karachi. Pakistan Test captain Misbahul Haq was picked by Islamabad. Umar Akmal by Lahore, Pakistan Opener Ahmad Shehzad and wicket keeper-batsman Sarfraz Ahmed were picked by Quetta from the Platinum category. Lahore Qalandars used their full right of quota of selecting four foreign players with Chris Gayle, Mustafizur, Dwayne Bravo, Kevon Cooper and Cameron Delport all drafted by Lahore Qalandars.

From Diamond category players’ selection, Youngster Imad Wasim was the first pick by Karachi, Muhammad Hafeez, who was demoted to the Diamond from Platinum category after being ignored, he was picked by Peshawar.

Shahid Afridi mentioned in an post interview saying that he would have loved if any franchise selected him for their franchise but from Peshawar Zalmi I will be more focused in foundation works being done by him in the region of his current Peshawar Zalmi team.

PSL T20 player draft list included 171 foreign and 137 Pakistani players. The short-listed players were divided into six categories, Icon, Platinum, Diamond, Gold, Silver and Emerging,

Each team picked the players wisely according to their budget selected for the players; following are the players list of each franchise picked up from the PSL draft.

Islamabad United:
Shane Watson (Australia), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Andre Russell (West Indies), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Mohammad Irfan (Pakistan), Brad Haddin (Australia), Sharjeel Khan (Pakistan), Mohammad Sami (Pakistan), Khalid Latif (Pakistan).

Karachi Kings:
Shoaib Malik (Pakistan), Shakib al-Hassan (Bangladesh), Sohail Tanvir (Pakistan), Immad Wasim (Pakistan), Ravi Bopara (England), Lendl Simmons (West Indies), Mohammad Amir (Pakistan), Bilawal Bhatti (Pakistan), James Vince (England).

Lahore Qalandars:
Chris Gayle (West Indies), Umar Akmal (Pakistan), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Sohaib Maqsood (Pakistan), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Kevon Cooper (West Indies), Cameron Delport (South Africa).

Peshawar Zalmi:
Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Wahab Riaz (Pakistan), Darren Sammy (West Indies), Kamran Akmal (Pakistan), Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan), Chris Jordan (England), Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh), Junaid Khan (Pakistan), James Allenby (Australia).

Quetta Gladiators:
Kevin Pietersen (England), Ahmed Shehzad (Pakistan), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan), Anwar Ali (Pakistan), Jason Holder (West Indies), Luke Wright (England), Zulfiqar Babar (Pakistan), Umar Gul (Pakistan), Elton Chigumbura (Zimbabwe).

However Younis Khan Pakistan’s run machine in tests and suspended off spinner Saeed Ajmal remained unpicked.

Giving credit to the PCB for organizing the mega cricket league, the franchise showed fully interest in PSL auction. While PCB has already finalized the sale of commercial rights for franchises, broadcasting the league live, and title sponsorship that is HBL.

The draft will continue on Tuesday for the 2nd round, where each team will have to choose maximum 5 players from the Silver, and 2 from the Emerging categories prospectively.

Each team will have a min of 4 foreign players in the starting 11 with the rule of ICC Domestic Leagues. The inaugural match of the Pakistan Super League will be played on February 4, 2016 in Dubai.

Leave a Reply