PSL Updates

Pakistan Super League T20 Updates
PSLt20, Pakistan Super League, PCB, PSL

PSLt20’s Top 5 Franchises Sold Out

PSLt20 Franchise Owner Teams Squads Players List 2016 – PSLt20 Bids Result Top Price Team. Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has called for bids to sell the rights for teams that will be taking part in the inaugural edition of Pakistan Super League T20 (PSLt20).

Salman Iqbal, CEO ARY Network has initiated the sponsorship of Pakistan Super League 2016 teams after purchasing the most expensive team, Team Karachi at the staggering amount of $2.6 million. The Karachi team is then followed by Team Lahore, sold at $2.4 million and Team Peshawar sold at $1.6 million respectively.

Pakistan T20 league is all set to take place on February 4 and will be guarded till February 24 in Dubai and Sharjah. Seven companies have participated in the franchise bidding process of the Pakistan Super League T20 (PSLt20) on Wednesday in Lahore.

According to the reports, PSLt20 will take place on February 4 in Dubai and Sharjah where the league will host 24 games in 20 days. The completion of the league will take place on February 24.

The league includes experienced cricketers like Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Kieron Pollard, Shane Watson, Lasith Malinga, Dwayne Bravo, Angelo Mathews and others in attendance.

The reports further revealed that 5 franchises including Karachi, Lahore, Quetta, Peshawar and Islamabad will represent in PSLt20 as 5 major cities.

The official, while revealing more about the tournament said that each team squad in PSLt20 can be a 16 member team with 11 local players and 5 overseas players.

The team will also consist of 2 emerging players. In all, there are 75 players in 2016 PSLt20 including 25 overseas players and 55 local players.

PSLt20 reports further affirmed that there were a number of parties that showed interest in the franchise bidding process, but in the end there were only seven parties, including the Middle Eastern parties who were able to confirm proposals and documents at the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) headquarters.

“We’re happy that seven credible companies with clean and strong backgrounds have participated in the bidding war of PSLt20 franchises,” a PSLt20 official told a local newspaper.

Other sources disclosed the names of the companies who are officially involved in the franchise bidding. The names embodied in the bidding included ARY Media Group, Omar Associates, Arif Habib Group, Haier, Mobilink as well as two foreign companies: UAE’s Venture Capital and Qatar’s Premier Oil Company QALCO.

“What’s heartening for us is the fact that out of the seven, six parties have submitted bids for all five franchises while only Arif Habib Group has submitted a bid for Karachi. So this shows that people are keen on what PSLt20 has to offer,” added the official.

According to details, there will be five teams in the first edition of PSLt20 namely Lahore, Karachi, Islamabad, Quetta and Peshawar.

The next process will kick off following the submissions of the bids. The cricketing board has mentioned the details and procedures in its advertisement. The Pakistan Super League – a professional Twenty20 cricket league that includes five franchised clubs – will be played between in February 2016. Other cricketing stars who have joined the PSLt20 are:

Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen, Shane Watson Ravi Bopara, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Jade Dernbach, Chris Jordan, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, Jason Holder, Jesse Ryder, Grant Elliott, James Franklin, Shakib Al Hasan, Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga, Thisara Perera, Brad Hodge and Johan Botha.

The officials also disclosed that the bidders will reserve their financial bids according to their preferences. “If none of them meet the price, then we’ll hold an auction between all seven parties,” said the official.

“If more than one party meets the reserved price for a certain franchise, there will be rebidding between them, and the highest bidder will get the rights.”

Leave a Reply